Election Results

City of Newark Election Results

Newark, DE- Jennifer Wallace, Luke Chapman and Stu Markham will officially be sworn in as City Council Members, and Polly Sierer as Mayor for the new term on Thursday, April 21, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. in the City Council Chamber.

Mayor Sierer and Councilman Markham ran unopposed during this election, while Wallace ran against Arlynn Hall and Chapman was challenged by Donna Means. Unofficial polling results are as follows:


Number of Votes
Arlynn Hall
3 56
Jennifer Wallace
3 285

Luke Chapman
5 376
Donna Means
5 117

Reaction from the winners:

Mayor Polly Sierer said, "I am grateful to the residents of the City of Newark for their continued support of my leadership and advocacy. I look forward to spending the next three years building on the tremendous success we've realized during my first three years in office and working with members of Council to continue ensuring Newark is a wonderful place to live, work and play."

Councilman Markham said, "I'd like to offer my sincere congratulations to our returning and new Council members. I look forward to working with them on a variety of topics and tackling the issues most important to the residents of our City."

Councilwoman-Elect Wallace said, "I am looking forward to getting started and doing the work for my constituents and I'm excited to take on this new role for the City."

Councilman Chapman said, "I'm humbled and honored to continue serving the residents of District 5 and I am grateful to everyone who came out to vote."

Results were officially certified on Thursday, April 14, 2016.