Go To Search
How Do I...?
Click to Home
Election Board Members
About the Board

AUTHORITY:                 Section 1002.2, Newark City Charter; Chapter 10, Sec. 10-2, City Code.


MEMBERSHIP:             Seven members.


APPOINTMENT:            Appointed by Council, with one member being appointed from each of the six 
                                      districts and one at-large.   


TERM:                           Three-year terms.


PAY:                              $180 for each registration and Election Day.


RESTRAINTS:               Each member shall be a citizen of the United States and shall have resided

                                       within the geographical boundaries of the City for one year next preceding his
appointment.  Mayor and Members of Council shall not be eligible for
appointment to the Board.



RE­QUIREMENTS:        Certification of the results of the election to each person elected and to the     


FUNCTIONS:                Conducts all elections and referendums.


                                      Has full power and authority to make and adopt rules to carry out the purposes

                                      of the Code, the Charter, and the Constitution and laws of the State of



                                      Shall establish guidelines which shall enumerate the duties of the Board and
election officials and the procedures for implementing them.


                                       Any member of the Election Board shall be deemed qualified to administer
oaths as required by the provisions of the Code regarding absentee
registration and absentee voting.


MEETINGS:                   The Board shall meet annually by the last Saturday in January and organize by
electing one of its members president.                              


Election Board - Membership (Three-year term)

  • Sydney Goldberg
    113 Panorama Drive
    Newark, DE  19711
    Term Expires:  January 15, 2019              Phone:  366-8771 (H)
  • Gordon Hendry
    8 Hayden Way
    Newark, DE 19711
    District 6
    Term Expires: January 15, 2016               Phone: 456-1656 (H)

  • Vacant
    District 4
    Term Expires:  January 15, 2017             
  • Janet Yoder
    102 Cheltenham Road
    Newark, DE  19711
    District 1
    Term Expires:  January 15, 2018              Phone:  283-0571 (H)
  • Laura Meredith
    50 Fremont Road
    Newark, DE 19711
    District 5
    Term Expires:  January 15, 2017              Phone:  738-5054 (H)
  • Priscilla Onizuk
    104 Tyre Ave.
    Newark, DE  19711
    District 2
    Term Expires:  January 15, 2018              Phone:  368-1552 (H)
  • Edward H. Wirth
    427 Arbour Dr.
    Newark, DE  19711
    District 3

    Term expires:  January 15, 2019               Phone:  368-4332 (H)                       

For further information, please call the City Secretary's Office at 302-366-7000.